+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Material used to make sails for sailing boats

As a painter I was recently given some old "canvas" to paint on by an avid sailor. Much to my chagrin it was not the "canvas" I was expecting, but a synthetic material. It could be a polyester. i do know the manufacturer, Melges of Zenda,Wisconson. I've gone to their website but do not know how to determine what the material actually is. It has an extremely tight weave and is difficult to stretch in the conventional manner,(obviously).
    Can I use a conventional gesso ground to size this material? I usually underpaint in alkyd, then overpaint in oil. I am not certain if this material will simply slough off the paint, and/ or gesso. Any thoughts on this would be appreciated.
    Last edited by mossco; 12-13-2010 at 11:35 PM. Reason: adding info

Quote Originally Posted by mossco View Post
    As a painter I was recently given some old "canvas" to paint on by an avid sailor. Much to my chagrin it was not the "canvas" I was expecting, but a synthetic material. It could be a polyester. i do know the manufacturer, Melges of Zenda,Wisconson. I've gone to their website but do not know how to determine what the material actually is. It has an extremely tight weave and is difficult to stretch in the conventional manner,(obviously).

Can I use a conventional gesso ground to size this material? I usually underpaint in alkyd, then overpaint in oil. I am not certain if this material will simply slough off the paint, and/ or gesso. Any thoughts on this would be appreciated.
    mossco,

Welcome to AMIEN.

We went to the Melges website, too, and it was obvious to us that they only sell boats equipped with sails. We did see a reference to the sail-maker, "one design," and went to that site, too: No information. We suggest you contact Melges directly and ask them to tell you what kind of material the sailcloth is made of.